Crayola retires crayon colors?! Who knew?

IMG_0312

I have no idea what Mr. Twisty-Tie is up to.

I was listening to Bloomberg News and there was a report that Crayola had retired the color “Dandelion.” This news quite upset me. I thought the Crayola crayon colors were standard and never changed. Nobody consulted me about this!

I went on the Crayola website and found out that they’ve been doing this for years. At least they have a Hall of Fame for retired crayons. The website states that Dandelion was taken on a tour of all his favorite places before he was retired. So, it’s better than I thought.

But I did get to remembering that I was in awe (envious, I mean) of a couple of kids who had the box with the 48 (or was it 64?) crayons and a sharpener built into the side. All I ever had was the regular box of eight crayons.

So, then I went on Amazon and found a kit with 152 different crayons plus a sharpener for $10 (the packaging was beat-up, but otherwise fine). I bought that thing in a heartbeat! It’s amazing! It’s got a yellow plastic carrier with four compartments for the crayons, a central handle, and a slot with a really nice sharpener. And it has a Dandelion crayon too!

Childhood pain healed for $10? What a deal!

Leave a Reply

